The grassroots of the game honoured at Brit Insurance Annual Achievement Awards

The great and the good of the cricketing world came together on 3 November to celebrate the work being done by Chance to Shine supported by Brit Insurance.

The Brit Insurance Annual Achievement Awards, held at Lord’s, recognised the efforts of the coaches, teachers and club managers involved on the ground in the country’s biggest school sports development initiative.

The star-studded event was attended by the Governor of the Bank of England and Chance to Shine President, Sir Mervyn King, England captains Andrew Strauss and Charlotte Edwards along with fellow England players Chris Tremlett and Jade Dernbach.

St Margaret’s CofE School scooped the coveted School of the Year Award. The judges praised how the school has embraced the essence of Chance to Shine and in particular the creation of an all girls after school cricket club for years three, four, five and six. As a result, The school has had an impressive average of fifty girls attending the club each week.

The Project of the Year Award was won by Sale Cricket Club. The judges praised the club for securing additional funding that allowed the club to employ a dedicated Sports Development Officer to deliver their programme, which resulted in a massive over delivery against the KPI’s and has ensured the sustainability of the programme as the overall income generated by the post will see it continue after the Chance to Shine funding has ended. Rob Moore and Rick Halkon collected the award for the club.

England star Chris Tremlett also attended the awards and received the Cricketing Ambassador of the Year award. Tremlett’s multiple appearances were worth £1 million in PR value for Chance to Shine.

Trevor Griffin from the Exeter Chance to Shine project received the Coach of the Year Award. The award judges were impressed with Trevor’s energy, his friendly approach to cricket and education, his willingness to try new out ideas and challenge his own ability as well as the children, teachers and coaches he engages with on a day to day basis.

The final award of the night was the Brit Insurance Special Recognition Award which was won by Bower Grove School in Maidstone. The award judges were impressed by how this special needs school has not only embraced the Chance to Shine programme allowing their pupils to benefit from it, but through the staff’s ability to recognise the value and wider community benefits of the project, other schools have also benefitted.

Wasim Khan, Chief Executive of the Cricket Foundation said: “The Brit Insurance Annual Achievement Awards are our opportunity to recognise and say thank you to all the people who work extremely hard on the Chance to Shine campaign in schools and clubs throughout the country.”

Other winners were:

Volunteer of the Year: Jon Desborough, Sky News sports presenter

Chance to Shine Young Leader of the Year: Kate Thompson, Stradbroke CC, Suffolk

Cricketing Ambassador of the Year sponsored by the PCA: Chris Tremlett

MCC Spirit of Cricket Award: South Ribble, West Lancashire Coaches

For the video highlights of the year please click:


Latest News

Stay in touch

Sign up to receive emails about our latest news, appeals, events and volunteering opportunities.