Chance to Shine school triumphs at Lord’s

Girls from Richmond School, had an experience of a lifetime last week (7 May) as they emerged victorious in the Lady Taverners Under-15 Girls’ National Indoor Finals at Lord’s.


Watched by England Women’s captain and Chance to Shine Coaching Ambassador, Charlotte Edwards, the Chance to Shine school won all of their matches which culminated in a victory over South Dartmoor School by 76 runs in the final to clinch the national title. They had earlier recorded victories against Ellesmere College, the Thomas Gainsborough School and Oathill Community College.


After getting involved with Chance to Shine, Richmond School entered a girls team in the Lady Taverners Under-15 indoor tournament for the first time last year. The team won one and lost the remaining three of its matches in that tournament.

After that the girls began training two to three days a week before school, as well as after school at the local club.

Richmond Head teacher Ian Robertson commented, “The success of our Girls’ Cricket team as U15 National Champions has sent a huge buzz throughout the school”.

“All students and staff know about the success and we are immensely proud of the girls.

“Thanks to our relationship with Richmondshire CC and the Chance to Shine project cricket is now the sport of choice for many students, both girls and boys”.

“It is fantastic to see students of all ages carrying bags of cricket kit into school knowing they will be playing during the school day, at break times, lunch times and then after school at the Cricket Club”.

Richmond School have now begun employing professional coaches to expand their girls’ cricket section.

Mark Jobling, Richmond’s cricket coach, said, “No one knew just how far we could take this; to win was the icing on the cake, the cake was the journey to get to Lord’s”.

The school is also in the process of laying a new cricket pitch which will benefited both the school and the local cricket club.

Squad: Georgie Walker (captain), Abby Blenkiron, Rosie Brannigan, Lucy Hartley, Amy Jobling, Liberty Nokes, Marie Teasdale, Megan Walker and India Wilson.

Stay in touch

Sign up to receive emails about our latest news, appeals, events and volunteering opportunities.