Chance to Shine Awards 2021

The Chance to Shine Awards took place on Thursday 25 November at Lord’s Cricket Ground, recognising those who have made significant contributions to the grassroots of the game in the last year.

The event was hosted by BBC TMS’ Aatif Nawaz and attended by Chance to Shine ambassadors Georgia Adams, Keaton Jennings and Sophie Luff and trustee Ebony Rainford-Brent who helped to hand out the trophies to the award winners.

Winners on the night included Bysing Wood School from Kent, who were named Primary School of the Year. As well as enthusiastically embracing the Chance to Shine programme and the values of the game, they also took part in extra leadership sessions for the Year 5 pupils; to give them the skills and confidence to then coach younger pupils at the school.




Zoeya Ahmed from Sheffield was named Young Leader of the Year. Having been a participant at her local Street project since she was 13, Zoeya grew in confidence and began to take a leadership role in the sessions. She has completed coach qualifications and now helps to run the sessions alongside her mentor Shahid Ali.

Elsewhere, Surrey Cricket Foundation picked up two awards on the night: Mantrulaady Thusharaah won Street Coach of the Year and the Croydon Street programme was named Project of the Year.

A full list of the winners can be seen below.

Despite the school closures during lockdown in January-March 2021, and other Covid-19 challenges, 457,625 young people took part in Chance to Shine sessions throughout the year across the Schools and Street programmes – with a 50:50 gender split.





Speaking at the event, the Chance to Shine Chief Executive, Laura Cordingley, addressed the recently highlighted issues of racism within cricket saying: “Cricket is at a crossroads. It is the responsibility of all of us to listen and to understand, to create change and to make sure that the game progresses.” Laura went on to outline Chance to Shine’s response to the issues which can be read in full here.

Laura commended the winners saying “Congratulations to all the incredible winners tonight. They have played a vital role in helping young people to get active through cricket and to benefit in so many different ways. Cricket has the potential to change people’s lives for the better and we have seen that in the winner’s stories tonight. We are immensely proud of the work that they do.”






Full list of winners (click to watch their story):

County Board of the Year – Warwickshire Cricket Board

Primary School of the Year – Bysing Wood Primary School, Kent

Street Coach of the Year – Mantrulaady Thushaarah, Surrey

Community Cricket Award – Rick Walton, Wales

Secondary School of the Year – Braunton Academy, Devon

Project of the Year – Croydon Street Project, Surrey

Outstanding Contribution Award – Dave Taylor

Schools Coach of the Year – Emily Vickery, Somerset

Young Leader of the Year – Zoeya Ahmed, Yorkshire

Stay in touch

Sign up to receive emails about our latest news, appeals, events and volunteering opportunities.